top of page
Search

Tell Me Something NEWS

Updated: Sep 10, 2019

Hello, Everyone and welcome to my blog. The title of the blog is a play on words in many ways. First of all, this class is all about new media and ways to tell stories on a digital platform, making this a whole new world for journalists. The name also says a little bit about me because I LOVE news. As an active member of WSRU-TV and The Rocket and someone who is extremely passionate about story-telling, I think it is safe to say that people associate my name with news. Lastly, I love Disney and always have. I also love puns, so the name of my blog naturally is made to be one.

As you can see in my photo, I love my city and it is my DREAM to make it back to Pittsburgh as a reporter someday.

So please, come along with me and explore this brand-new world of media with me.

I am "finally" able to take this class. I have been waiting to take it for a few years and having an internship over the summer that required me to do a lot of mobile journalism really solidified the purpose of having this class. In an everyday work setting, Multi-Media Journalists have to work around obstacles such as only having a cell phone to tell a story and having to know a way to get the story out quicker than the competition.

Now we know why I took the class...but why Converged Journalism and why Slippery Rock University? Well, the short answer is I love to write. My grandma always loved writing and she taught me how to put a lot of passion into what I write. She always writes the most-heart felt birthday cards, and so I started doing that at a young age. Writing is a way to get feelings on the page and also a way to tell other people’s stories on a platform for many other people to see. I was never good at math, so that meant I had to be extra good at English and Writing to make up for it. I have also always loved broadcasting. I was on my High School's Morning news team just for fun, never realizing that it would be realistic to take up a career in Broadcast Journalism. I always told my parents that the news girls on TV were famous and I could never be one. My mom told me to follow my heart, and I did. I fell in love with the major and with SRU. These past 3 years, getting to produce, write, report, and anchor for WSRU-TV and also be a senior writer for The Rocket have been some of the best experiences for me.

I want this class to be able to bring out the best in me and shape me into a better journalist. I know that this class will force all of us to try new things and step out of our comfort zones, but that truly is the fun of it.

I do really like news and try to watch as much local and national news as I can. I watch a lot more local news than national because Dr. Fleming always tells us that is more realistic because we would start in a position like that. I am very loyal to all Pittsburgh stations. I have had the opportunity to tour all three studios and shadow reporters, but I have a slight bias toward WPXI because that is where I go weekly to work with a producer on my own personal resume reel. I also shadow Jennifer Tomazik most Sunday mornings, so I have a more personal connection with the Channel 11 Reporters. My legendary news source would have to be Pittsburgh Post Gazette. This is mainly because I have grown up reading it, and my mom subscribed to it for the sports section. When it comes to new media, I would have to vote Mashable because it has hard news but also some entertainment news. It is aimed at a younger demographic, making it appealing to college students like us.

I would of course appreciate it if you would follow this blog, but if you don’t feel like it but still want to follow me, feel free to on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Linked-In, and YouTube. I also have a news Facebook page, where you can specifically see some of my news content, without having to see pictures of my family and friends, cheesy quotes, and my aesthetically pleasing dinner.

That is all- Please take a ride on this magical carpet of news throughout the semester with me.

Stay Tuned…






Here is a collection of some of my favorite news moments...just for fun


50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page